Choosing an Annual Report Agency in India: Scope, Fees, AGM Clock
Agency selection for annual reports, integrated reports and BRSR/ESG reporting is now a compliance-calendar decision, not a design brief. Scope tiers, indicative fee bands, and the one question to ask every bidder before price.
Key takeaways
- SEBI Circular No. SEBI/HO/CFD/CFD-PoD-1/P/CIR/2025/42 dated 28 March 2025 lets listed entities choose between third-party assessment under Industry Standards Forum (ISF) standards or formal assurance for BRSR Core.
- BRSR Core assessment or assurance covers the top 500 listed entities in FY 2025-26 and expands to the top 1,000 in FY 2026-27.
- Regulation 36(2) of SEBI LODR, which required annual report dispatch at least 21 days before the AGM, has been deleted, leaving Companies Act, 2013 timelines to govern.
- Regulation 36(1)(b) of SEBI LODR now allows a letter with a web-link path instead of a physical annual report for shareholders without registered email IDs, effective 12 December 2024.
- Design and production agencies are unregulated commercial vendors, while BRSR Core assessment or assurance must come from a provider independent of management and of the company's other service contracts.
- Integrated Filing-Financial in XBRL has been mandatory since 1 April 2025 and is a compliance or registrar workstream, not an annual report agency deliverable.
Picking an annual report agency in India used to be a design conversation: fonts, photography, whether the chairman's letter runs to two pages or three. It isn't anymore. Three SEBI moves through 2025 have turned agency selection into a compliance-calendar decision that a design brief alone cannot answer, and the sequencing problem now sits with the CFO rather than the communications team.
Why the annual report brief changed underneath you
For years the working assumption was simple: hire a design studio, get a good-looking PDF and a print run, dispatch it 21 days before the AGM. That no longer holds.
The dispatch clock moved first. SEBI's July 2025 consultation paper on easing compliance for non-convertible securities noted that the erstwhile Regulation 36(2) of the LODR Regulations, which required a listed entity to send its annual report to security holders not less than twenty-one days before the AGM, was deleted, on the reasoning that the timelines for dispatch of documents to shareholders before an AGM is already specified in the Companies Act, 2013 (Taxguru). Physical dispatch has also been quietly hollowed out: Regulation 36(1)(b) of SEBI LODR now states that a letter needs to be sent to shareholders who have not registered their email ids, stating that the annual report of the company would be available at the path mentioned in the letter, an amendment effective from 12 December 2024 (Taxguru). Print is turning into a compliance fallback rather than the primary deliverable.
More consequentially, the content of the report grew a regulatory spine. SEBI's circular of 28 March 2025, Circular No. SEBI/HO/CFD/CFD-PoD-1/P/CIR/2025/42, amended the LODR Regulations vide Gazette ID CG-MH-E-28032025-262027 dated 28 March 2025 (SEBI). That circular, and not the dispatch tweak, should be driving your 2026 brief.
What did SEBI's 28 March 2025 circular change for BRSR Core?
BRSR Core is the subset of the Business Responsibility and Sustainability Report carrying specified ESG attributes that must be independently verified. The March 2025 circular gave companies a choice on how that verification happens. Listed entities can now choose between "assessment" or "assurance" for BRSR Core and value chain ESG disclosures, with the "assessment" to be conducted as per Industry Standards Forum (ISF) guidelines (Taxguru). The circular itself specifies that "assessment" refers to third-party assessment undertaken as per the standards developed by the Industry Standards Forum (ISF) in consultation with SEBI.
The applicability glide path keeps widening: it started with the top 150 listed entities in FY 2023-24, and the top 500 listed entities will be required to undergo BRSR Core assessment or assurance in FY 2025-26, expanding further in FY 2026-27 to include the top 1,000 listed entities (Business Standard). The thresholds no longer move together across reporting, assurance and value chain, so confirm where each of your entities sits using a layer-by-layer BRSR applicability test before you sign anything.
Value chain ESG disclosure, which threatened to pull thousands of suppliers and customers into scope, got breathing room. SEBI decided to defer the disclosure and assessment or assurance with respect to value chain by one year and to revise the threshold for value chain partners, so that value chain now covers the top upstream and downstream partners individually comprising 2% or more of purchases and sales, though the listed entity may limit disclosure to cover 75% of purchases and sales by value. In practical terms, from FY 2025-26 the top 250 listed companies by market capitalisation can voluntarily disclose ESG information related to their value chain, with assessment or assurance of these disclosures voluntary from FY 2026-27. A new voluntary line item also arrived: a Green Credit Program disclosure that lets green credits generated by the listed company and its top 10 value chain partners be added as a leadership indicator under Principle 6 of BRSR.
None of this is print-and-design work. It is data governance, sitting upstream of whatever agency turns the numbers into pages.
| Requirement | Before FY2025-26 cycle | From FY2025-26 / as amended |
|---|---|---|
| Annual report dispatch to shareholders | Regulation 36(2): not less than 21 days before AGM | Regulation 36(2) deleted; Companies Act statutory timelines apply |
| Physical copy for non-registered emails | Full hard copy of financial statements | Letter with web-link path to the online annual report, effective 12 December 2024 |
| BRSR Core verification | Assurance mandatory for top 150 (FY2023-24) | Choice of assurance or ISF-standard assessment; top 500 (FY2025-26), top 1,000 (FY2026-27) |
| Value chain ESG disclosure | Scheduled to phase in from FY2024-25 | Deferred by one year; voluntary for top 250 from FY2025-26 |
| Green credit disclosure | Not part of BRSR | Applicable from FY2024-25 onward, voluntary leadership indicator |
| Financial results filing | PDF filings accepted on exchange portals | Integrated Filing-Financial in XBRL mandatory from 1 April 2025; PDF-only submissions discontinued |
Key number: 500 is the number of listed entities that must complete BRSR Core assessment or assurance for FY2025-26, rising to 1,000 the year after.
Where's the line between a design agency and an assurance provider?
The boundary gets blurred in almost every annual report RFP. The agency laying out your pages is a different kind of vendor from the provider signing off on your BRSR Core numbers, and treating them as interchangeable is how conflicts of interest creep in.
A design or production agency, whatever its billing, is an unregulated commercial vendor. SEBI has no licensing regime, code of conduct or disclosure obligation for the role; you hire them like any creative supplier, judged on typography, narrative clarity and turnaround. BRSR Core assessment or assurance is bound to the ISF standards SEBI has written into the master circular, and it must come from a provider independent of management and of the company's other service contracts. SEBI's direction of travel on independence is visible in how it treats ESG rating providers, where it tightened rules for ESG rating providers to avoid conflicts of interest, mandate dual disclosures to issuer and subscribers, and ensure competence (Taxguru). Boards that have already dealt with an unsolicited ESG rating and the Regulation 30 intimation will recognise the logic. It is the same reasoning that should stop a company from letting its report designer, or a firm commercially entangled with that designer, grade its own ESG data.
In practice this means two separate contracts and reporting lines, ideally with no shared ownership or fee dependency. The design agency should never be asked to tick the BRSR Core boxes as well; that is assessment or assurance work, and it belongs with a provider who can defend independence if SEBI or your auditors ever ask. This is the part most secretarial teams miss when a single vendor offers to handle the whole cycle at a discount.
What sits inside an annual report brief in 2026?
The annual report your agency is quoting on has more regulated moving parts than the one you commissioned five years ago: audited financial statements and notes, the Board's Report and MD&A, the Corporate Governance Report, the full BRSR with BRSR Core as its assured or assessed subset, voluntary value chain ESG data if you sit inside the top 250, voluntary green credit disclosure where applicable, and the AGM notice with e-voting instructions.
Increasingly separate from the glossy PDF is the machine-readable filing that goes to the exchanges. Listed entities must submit financial results using the Integrated Filing-Financial XBRL utility on the NEAPS portal, which replaces existing utilities for financial results, related party transactions, audit qualifications and deviation statements (Taxguru). That XBRL layer sits with the compliance team or the registrar, not the design agency, and an agency that quietly folds it into the "annual report" line item is either overcharging or under-delivering.
BRSR itself carries a numbering discipline a design team should respect rather than reformat for readability. BRSR Core disclosures are made pursuant to Regulation 34(2) of the SEBI (LODR) Regulations, 2015, and as per SEBI Circular No. SEBI/HO/CFD/CFD-SEC-2/P/CIR/2023/122 (BSE filing), and those clause references belong in the report as fixed text, not as copy to be smoothed over.
An assurance provider with a conflict of interest leaves you with a disclosure gap on the regulatory record.
What fee bands should you budget for an annual report agency in India?
There is no published SEBI or exchange benchmark for agency fees; this is commercial, negotiated work, and any quote should be checked against at least two competing bids. Based on the scope tiers we track across mid-cap and large-cap mandates, the market typically segments as below. Treat these as indicative ranges rather than sourced figures.
| Scope tier | Typical deliverable | Who does it | Indicative fee band (₹) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compliance-only | Statutory sections laid out cleanly, print-ready PDF, no narrative design | In-house team plus freelance designer | 3–8 lakh |
| Standard annual report | Design, MD&A narrative support, BRSR layout, print and digital PDF | Boutique design/production agency | 10–35 lakh |
| Integrated, narrative-led report | Six-capitals or thematic storytelling, infographics, microsite, video | Full-service reporting consultancy | 35 lakh to 1.5 crore+ |
| BRSR Core assessment or assurance | Independent third-party check per ISF or assurance standards | Independent assurance/assessment provider, not the design agency | Priced separately; scales with entity size and value chain scope |
The fourth row is non-negotiable and non-bundleable. If a design agency's proposal includes a line for "ESG assurance" at a marginal add-on price, ask who is signing that opinion and whether they clear the independence bar.
In practice: lock your BRSR Core assessment or assurance provider before you brief your design agency. The verified data set, not the layout, is what determines your production timeline.
How do you select an agency against the AGM clock?
Most listed companies still work backward from an AGM date that has to fall within the statutory window after financial year-end, with notice period, record date and e-voting window all needing to line up. A typical company notice shows the mechanics still governing this even after Regulation 36(2)'s deletion: the e-voting period runs for a fixed window, and shareholders holding shares as on the cut-off record date may cast their vote electronically, all pursuant to SEBI's e-voting circular under Regulation 44 of the LODR Regulations (BSE filing).
Working back from that date, the sequence runs: audited financials and BRSR Core data finalised and handed to your assessment or assurance provider first; the independent opinion or letter locked before a single page goes to design; the design agency then working against a fixed content freeze, with proofs, print where still needed, and digital-first dispatch running in parallel in the final fortnight. Agencies that quote a flat turnaround "from content to print" without asking when your BRSR Core sign-off lands are quoting blind.
Since dispatch is no longer pinned to a hard 21-day LODR rule, the real constraint has shifted to your board's calendar and your assurance provider's bandwidth. Both peak in the same six-to-eight week window every May and June, when hundreds of top-1,000 companies compete for the same pool of BRSR Core assessors.
Who are the annual report agencies in India?
Start with a warning about method. Most agencies in this market sell through pitch decks, not published case studies, so a portfolio slide is not evidence. The one class of source that can be checked line by line is a competition body's own winner list, because the entry record names the company, the agency, the report and the placing. we used the LACP 2023/24 Vision Awards — specifically its worldwide Top 100 list — as the spine of the table below, and each agency's own site only for things an agency is entitled to assert about itself.
Two caveats before you read it, and a disclosure: members of The Footnotes' editorial desk have worked with WyattPrism and RDX Digital; the ordering below is by editorial judgement of scale and specialism, not by any commercial relationship. First, inclusion is not endorsement: an award entry tells you a firm produced a report for a named listed company in a given year, nothing about fees, staffing, deadline behaviour or how the AGM cycle went. Second, LACP is a paid-entry competition, so entry counts partly measure who enters, not only who does good work. The list is shorter than the market: there are many more reporting shops in Mumbai, Delhi NCR, Kolkata, Pune, Bengaluru and Chennai, plus ESEF/XBRL typesetters and BRSR assurance providers, and we've left out anyone we couldn't verify on a page we actually opened. Treat absence as absence of a checkable public record, not a judgement.
The agencies with an auditable 2023/24 record
| Agency | Base (as verified) | Report types evidenced | Public signal (verifiable) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Stirrup Communication Consultants | Mumbai and Kolkata (editor's note; the firm has no public website we could open, so this is not independently verified) | Annual and integrated reports for large caps | About 11 Top 100 listings: Hero Future Energies #19 (Silver), PVR INOX #25, PNB Housing #43, Maruti Suzuki #44, JSW Steel #59, Thermax #80, Hero MotoCorp #81 |
| WyattPrism Communications | Mumbai, Gurgaon (Delhi NCR), Kolkata and Bengaluru (agency's own site) | Annual and integrated reports; positions itself as an annual report specialist and runs digital reporting through its sister agency RDX Digital, which lists digital corporate reporting among its offerings (verified on RDX's site) | Around 13 Top 100 listings: Hindustan Zinc #16, ICICI Prudential Life #26, Deepak Nitrite #28, HDFC Life #37, VIP Industries #49, Radico Khaitan #85. Separately claims 180-plus awards |
| SGA Adsvita | Mumbai and Kolkata (agency's own site) | Annual, integrated, ESG; says its team includes certified integrated reporting and BRSR professionals (its claim) | Credited on roughly 18 of the 100 listings in the LACP 2023/24 Top 100, including Satin Creditcare at #12, Lumax Industries #41, NOCIL #45, Uno Minda #48, Gabriel India #61, Kaynes Technology #75 |
| Kalolwala & Associates | Not stated on the pages we checked | Annual reports, ESG/BRSR work (its claim, via press release) | Five Top 100 listings: Exicom #39, Himadri Speciality Chemical #67, Amara Raja #68, Endurance Technologies #95, and Gulf Oil Lubricants India at #69, a Gold with a judged score of 98/100 |
| Report Yak | Not stated on the pages we checked | Annual and integrated reports | Three Top 100 listings: LTTS #17 (Gold, "Most Improved"), Tilaknagar Industries #34 (Bronze), L&T Technology Services #76 |
The concentration is the finding. Those five firms account for roughly half the individual listings in a worldwide Top 100, which tells you the competitive set for a mid-cap Indian mandate is small and repeats itself across sectors. It also means references are easy to get: every company named above is listed, and its investor-relations page carries the report you can judge for yourself.
The in-house option is real
Not every ranked report came from an agency. LTIMindtree placed fourth worldwide with its own Digital Studio credited, and several Indian entries — Westlife Foodworld at #52, Birlasoft at #56 — carry no agency credit at all. If you have a secretarial team, a brand manager and a typesetter on retainer, the agency line item is a choice, not a given.
What to do with this list
Shortlist three, then verify independently: ask for the last three annual reports each firm produced for listed clients; open those reports on the client's investor-relations page rather than the agency's portfolio; and put any award claim against the issuing body's published winner entry, which names the agency and the score. Where a firm's positioning is its own assertion — "largest", "leading", "certified" — record it in the board note as the agency's claim, with the source, and move on to the timetable and the fee.
What this means for CFOs, company secretaries and IR teams
For CFOs, the task is sequencing budget and data rather than creative direction. Ring-fence the BRSR Core assessment or assurance fee as a separate line item from the design and production budget, and confirm which of your entities falls inside the top 500 or top 1,000 threshold this cycle before signing a design contract.
For company secretaries, the deletion of Regulation 36(2) does not remove dispatch obligations; it moves the governing timeline to the Companies Act, 2013 and to Regulation 36(1)(b)'s digital-access letter. Update board notes and AGM checklists to reflect that the LODR-specific 21-day clause no longer exists on its own, while keeping practice unchanged unless your auditors advise otherwise. We'd read the deletion as a simplification of overlapping rules rather than a licence to compress the dispatch window.
For IR teams, XBRL is no longer a back-office afterthought filed once the glossy report is out. With PDF-only financial filings discontinued and Integrated Filing-Financial mandatory in XBRL from 1 April 2025, your XBRL preparer needs the same locked numbers, at the same time, as your design agency. Build that into the production calendar as a parallel workstream.
Run your next RFP as a compliance-calendar exercise. Ask every bidder, design agency or assurance provider alike, one question before you ask about price: what date do you need my locked, assessed BRSR Core data, and what happens to your quote if that slips by two weeks.
Frequently asked questions
Can my annual report design agency also do my BRSR Core assurance?
It shouldn't. A design or production agency is an unregulated commercial supplier, judged on typography, narrative and turnaround. BRSR Core assessment or assurance is bound to the Industry Standards Forum (ISF) standards SEBI wrote into its master circular and must come from a provider independent of management and of the company's other service contracts. Keep two contracts, two reporting lines and, ideally, no shared ownership or fee dependency between them.
What should an annual report cost in India?
There is no published SEBI or exchange benchmark, so fees are negotiated. Indicative bands we see: ₹3–8 lakh for compliance-only layout of statutory sections, ₹10–35 lakh for a standard designed annual report including BRSR layout, and ₹35 lakh to ₹1.5 crore or more for an integrated, narrative-led report with microsite and video. BRSR Core assessment or assurance is priced separately and scales with entity size and value chain scope.
Does the 21-day annual report dispatch rule still apply?
Not as a SEBI LODR rule. Regulation 36(2), which required a listed entity to send its annual report to security holders not less than twenty-one days before the AGM, was deleted on the reasoning that Companies Act, 2013 timelines already cover dispatch. Company secretaries should update board notes and AGM checklists accordingly, while keeping working practice unchanged unless auditors advise otherwise.
When should I appoint the agency relative to my AGM date?
Work backwards, and appoint the assessment or assurance provider first. Audited financials and BRSR Core data are finalised and handed over, the independent opinion or letter is locked, and only then does design start against a fixed content freeze. Assurance bandwidth peaks in the same six-to-eight week window each May and June, when hundreds of top-1,000 companies compete for the same pool of BRSR Core assessors.
Is XBRL filing part of the annual report agency's scope?
No. Listed entities must submit financial results using the Integrated Filing-Financial XBRL utility on the NEAPS portal, which replaces existing utilities for financial results, related party transactions, audit qualifications and deviation statements. That layer sits with the compliance team or the registrar. An agency that folds XBRL into its annual report line item is either overcharging or under-delivering.
What changed on value chain ESG disclosure?
SEBI deferred value chain disclosure and its assessment or assurance by one year and revised the threshold, so value chain now covers top upstream and downstream partners individually comprising 2% or more of purchases and sales, with disclosure capped at 75% of purchases and sales by value. From FY 2025-26 the top 250 listed companies may disclose voluntarily; assessment or assurance of those disclosures is voluntary from FY 2026-27.
Sources
- SEBI | BRSR Core - Framework for assurance and ESG disclosures for value chain — SEBI
- SEBI | Measures to facilitate ease of doing business with respect to framework for assurance or assessment, ESG disclosures for value chain, and introduction of voluntary disclosure on green credits — SEBI
- SEBI Proposes Change in Annual Report Dispatch Norms — TaxGuru
- FAQs for LODR Regulations — SEBI
- NSE Circular — Integrated Filing (Financial) and discontinuation of legacy XBRL utilities — NSE India
- IFRS - International Integrated Reporting Council archive — IFRS Foundation
- Background Material on Sustainability and BRSR (Revised Edition) — ICAI
- Annual General Meeting Compliance Calendar for Listed Companies — TaxGuru
- SEBI Ends Physical Dispatch of Annual Reports and Notices
- SEBI: ESG Disclosure, Green Credits, Assessment Updates
- Sebi includes Green Credit Program under BRSR framework | Markets News - Business Standard
- Integrated Filing Disclosure for Listed Entities – NSE Circular
- SEBI Regulations and Guidelines on ESG
- DCX SYSTEMS LIMITED CIN: L31908KA2011PLC061686 An AS 9100D Certified
- Date: 08.09.2026 To, BSE Limited Department of Corporate Filings,
- K & A: Unleashing the power of stakeholder reporting
- Kalolwala & Associates (K & A) joins hands with Travanleo to leverage Ecodrisil to advance ESG reporting for India Inc.